Greater Harrisburg's Community Magazine

Inauguration set for new Harrisburg mayor, council at Whitaker Center on Jan. 3

Mayor-Elect Wanda Williams

With the new year will come new executive leadership in Harrisburg, as Wanda Williams will be sworn in as mayor on Jan. 3.

The inaugural ceremony will take place at Whitaker Center, 222 Market St., Harrisburg, at 10 a.m. The event is free to the public.

Williams will replace incumbent Mayor Eric Papenfuse, who served for the last eight years in office. In November, Williams claimed victory overwhelmingly in the general election, despite Papenfuse’s attempt to win re-election through a write-in campaign.

Williams, the current Harrisburg City Council president, will be the 39th mayor of Harrisburg.

Harrisburg City Council members will also be sworn into office. They include Ausha Green and Shamaine Daniels, who were re-elected, as well as newcomers Ralph Rodriguez and Jocelyn Rawls. Council will reorganize, vote on a new council president and assign committee members at a Jan. 3 meeting at 12:30 p.m.

City Controller Charlie DeBrunner, who ran unopposed during the election, also will be sworn in for another term.

The following weekend, Williams will revive the tradition of holding a mayor’s inaugural ball. It will be held on Jan. 8 at the Sheraton Hotel, 4650 Lindle Rd., Harrisburg, at 5 p.m. Tickets can be purchased for $75.

For more information on the inauguration of Wanda Williams, visit her website.

If you like what we do, please support our work. Become a Friend of TheBurg!

Continue Reading