Greater Harrisburg's Community Magazine

Harrisburg School Board members sworn-in, tasked with advocating for children

Screenshot from the virtual school board reorganization meeting.

The Harrisburg School District has a few new faces in office.

At a virtual reorganization meeting on Monday night, the district swore in six board members, four of whom took their seats for the first time.

Dauphin County Magisterial Judge Sonya McKnight led the swearing-in of the following board members, who were elected last month:

  • Brian Carter- 4-year term (re-elected)
  • Danielle Robinson- 4-year term (re-elected)
  • Roslyn Copeland- 4-year term
  • Jaime Johnsen- 4-year term
  • Terricia Radcliff- 2-year term
  • Ellis R. Roy- 2-year term

“This is an incredible time to work together to really support the students, families and staff members of the Harrisburg School District,” Receiver Janet Samuels said. “I’d like to encourage the board members to step out there and to make a difference.”

Board members voted for Brian Carter for president of the board and Steven Williams for vice president.

While the district is under court-mandated state receivership, board members do not have the power to vote at meetings. However, certain directors do serve as Dauphin County Technical School committee members, Pennsylvania School Board Association liaisons, Capital Area Intermediate Unit board members and the district’s Recovery Plan Advisory Committee members.

Samuels encouraged them to interact with community members and build partnerships to benefit the district.

“Just because we are in receivership, that does not mean that our advocacy stops,” Carter said. “We can advocate for our kids to get that quality education, and I look forward towards doing that.”

If you like what we do, please support our work. Become a Friend of TheBurg!


Continue Reading