Greater Harrisburg's Community Magazine

Harrisburg Fire Bureau continues to grow, officers sworn in, awards given

Firefighters were sworn into the Harrisburg Fire Bureau by Mayor Eric Papenfuse.

On Monday afternoon, the Harrisburg Fire Bureau swore in new firefighters, setting a record high for the number of personnel in over a decade, Chief Brian Enterline said.

At the bureau’s virtual 2020 Awards Ceremony, 10 new hires joined the ranks, bringing the total number of officers in the bureau to 88.

“That represents the real, true growth for the Harrisburg Fire Bureau,” Mayor Eric Papenfuse said. “We have brought this bureau back, and now we are growing again.”

The new firefighters include Timothy Wolcott, Nicholas Hurst, Austin Howard, Nathaniel Barbolish, Brayden Byers, Jared Day, Justin Barnes, Cody Durham, Joseph Kuhn and Conner Davis.

Hurst, Kuhn and Wolcott previously served in the U.S. Armed Forces.

The 10 new firefighters underwent much of their training through online classes due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Enterline said.

“They remained committed and flexible even though that may not have been a popular choice on any given day,” he said.

During the awards ceremony portion of the presentation, four officers received an award for helping facilitate COVID-19 testing in Philadelphia in March. Recipients of the National Deployment Award were Capt. Aldo Morelli, Lt. William Skinner and firefighters Joshua Hull and Michael Shaak.

The following awards also were given to members of the bureau:

Award of Merit

  • Fire Chief Brian Enterline
  • Battalion Chief Jason Lloyd
  • Firefighter John Peskie
  • Firefighter Zachary Miller
  • Lt. William Skinner
  • Lt. Jeff Miller
  • Firefighter Kyle Paul
  • Firefighter Jordan Stoudt

CPR Save

  • Lt. Robert Lohin
  • Firefighter David Gilkey
  • Firefighter Brandon Trygar
  • Firefighter Jeremiah Hoover
  • Firefighter Thomas Propst
  • Firefighter Gregory McDonald
  • Firefighter Jordan Stoudt
  • Firefighter Glenn Raudensky
  • Harrisburg Bureau of Police Sergeant Scott Johnsen
  • Harrisburg Bureau of Police Officer Stephen Marte
  • Harrisburg Bureau of Police Officer Carson O’Conner

Distinguished Unit Citation

  • Lt. Corey Stone
  • Firefighter Justin Flanders
  • Firefighter Ryan Spangler
  • Firefighter Shane Conrad
  • Firefighter Jonathan Little
  • Firefighter Thomas Cucchiara
  • Lt. Jeff Miller
  • Firefighter Michael Stender
  • Firefighter Jeremiah Hoover
  • Firefighter Thomas Propst
  • Firefighter Gregory McDonald
  • Firefighter Nicholas Buckingham
  • Firefighter Justin Zimmerman

Citizen Commendation

  • Chad Krebs
  • Justin David

There was one 2020 retiree, Leon Cliatt, recognized for his 22 years of service in the bureau.

“Our mission is to provide the best possible services for the citizens and visitors of our wonderful capital city and this year was no exception,” Senior Deputy Fire Chief Michael Souder said.

To view the Harrisburg Bureau of Fire’s 2020 Awards Ceremony, click here.

Support quality local journalism. Become a Friend of TheBurg today!

Continue Reading