Greater Harrisburg's Community Magazine

TheBurg, Jeff Woodruff to receive 2020 Arts Awards

TheBurg and Jeff Woodruff are the 2020 recipients of the Awards for Distinguished Service to the Arts in the Capital Region.

Theatre Harrisburg announced its selections last week, citing TheBurg and Woodruff, the long-time executive director of the Harrisburg Symphony Orchestra, for their contributions in advancing the arts in central Pennsylvania.

“This is a tremendous honor for TheBurg staff,” said Lawrance Binda, editor-in-chief of the award-winning community magazine and news organization. “It helps validate our belief that the arts play an essential role in a healthy and thriving community.”

Theatre Harrisburg established the “Arts Awards” in 1989 to honor artists and arts leaders, philanthropists and visionaries, educators, organizations and companies. Each year, a panel of past recipients selects one individual and one company/organization to receive the award.

“Deeply embedded in the community, and believing that the arts are a fundamental part of a healthy community, TheBurg has become particularly noted for both its arts coverage and its artistic design, with each issue featuring stories about painters, illustrators, theater, musicians, performers and other artists, as well as art spaces,” according to the Theatre Harrisburg announcement. “TheBurg also commissions the work of local illustrators, painters, photographers, cartoonists and designers.”

TheBurg also was praised for its role in organizing 3rd in the Burg, the monthly arts and cultural event in Harrisburg, and its core support for the Harrisburg Mural Festival, a Sprocket Mural Works project that has resulted in dozens of murals in Harrisburg over the last few years.

Woodruff (pictured) was lauded for his 17 years at the helm of the HSO.

“Under Woodruff’s leadership, the HSO has grown substantially,” according to the Theatre Harrisburg announcement. “He has overseen the expansion of the HSO Pops series from three concerts to five, collaborative efforts between the HSO and several other arts organizations in the region, and dramatic expansion of the HSO’s educational programs into the schools.”

Woodruff plans to retire at the conclusion of the 2019-20 season.

TheBurg and Woodruff join an impressive roster of past recipients, including such distinguished people and organizations as Anne and Don Alsedek, Marcia Dale Weary, Clark and Melissa Nicholson, WITF and Market Square Concerts.

The Arts Awards will be presented on May 31 in a gala at Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts in downtown Harrisburg. The event is open to the public with proceeds benefitting Theatre Harrisburg. Visit 

Pictured above: TheBurg staff members Lauren Maurer, Lawrance Binda, Kelsey Tatge and Megan Caruso.

Continue Reading