Greater Harrisburg's Community Magazine

Gov. Wolf makes it official, signs order moving Dauphin, Perry counties to “green” reopening phase

State guidance for locations in the “green” reopening phase.

It’s official—Dauphin and Perry counties will move to the “green” phase of reopening at midnight.

Gov. Tom Wolf released a statement tonight saying that both he and Department of Health Secretary Rachel Levine signed orders allowing eight counties to move from the yellow phase to the less-restrictive green phase.

In addition to Dauphin and Perry, these counties are Franklin, Huntingdon, Luzerne, Monroe, Pike and Schuylkill.

As of  Friday, 54 of Pennsylvania’s 67 counties will be in the green phase, with 13 counties, mostly around the Philadelphia area, still in the yellow phase. All of the greater Harrisburg area will be in the green phase except for Lancaster and Lebanon counties.

The green phase eases most restrictions by lifting the stay-at-home and business closure orders. Notably, it allows many businesses, such as bars, restaurants, salons, gyms and entertainment facilities to open, though at 50 percent of capacity.

“While this phase facilitates a return to a ‘new normal,’ it is equally important to continue to monitor public health indicators and adjust orders and restrictions as necessary to ensure the spread of disease remains at a minimum,” according to a release from Wolf’s office.

New COVID-19 cases have been slowly falling in Pennsylvania for more than two months after hitting a peak the first week of April. For the past week, new diagnoses have hovered around 400 daily.

Continue Reading