Greater Harrisburg's Community Magazine

Papenfuse Wins Re-Election for Harrisburg Mayor; Council, School Board Set

The makeup of Harrisburg City Council will not change, as five sitting council members won election tonight.

Harrisburg Mayor Eric Papenfuse sailed to an easy reelection victory tonight, despite two candidates mounting late write-in bids.

With all 28 precincts reporting, Papenfuse garnered 3,782 votes. All write-in candidates together tallied 501.

Just days ago, two of Papenfuse’s defeated opponents in the Democratic primary, Gloria Martin-Roberts and Lewis Butts, declared that they would mount write-in campaigns in the general election. Both lost handily.

With his victory, Papenfuse will begin his second, four-year mayoral term in January.

Five Harrisburg City Council candidates also ran unopposed in their races. Council incumbents Wanda Williams, Shamaine Daniels and Ben Allatt each won four-year terms, as did newcomer Ausha Green. Councilman Dave Madsen earned a two-year seat.

Harrisburg Treasurer Dan Miller and Controller Charlie DeBrunner each ran unopposed and will serve four-year terms.

For school board, all the listed Democrats won four-year seats: Brian Carter, Carrie Fowler, Danielle Robinson and Judd Pittman. Incumbent James Thompson, who lost in the Democratic primary but cross-filed, lost on the Republican side tonight.

Percel Eiland, running unopposed, took the two-year seat for school board.

One district justice seat was contested. In the race for district 12-01-05. Democrat Hanif Johnson beat back Claude Phipps, who was on the Republican ballot, by a vote of 953-347.

In Dauphin County, Republican Matthew Krupp defeated Democrat Diane Bowman in a close race for prothonotary. In the heated contest for three Court of Common Pleas judgeships, sitting Judge Lori Serratelli lost to challengers Ed Marsico, Royce Morris and John McNally.

Continue Reading