Greater Harrisburg's Community Magazine

Eric Papenfuse Elected Mayor of Harrisburg


Eric Papenfuse makes his acceptance speech as mayor-elect of Harrisburg at Midtown Scholar Bookstore.


Democrat Eric Papenfuse tonight assumed the mantle of mayor-elect of Harrisburg, besting Republican candidate Dan Miller and write-in candidates Aaron Johnson and Lewis Butts Jr.

With all 28 precincts reporting, Papenfuse won the race with 3,618 votes versus 2,333 for Miller and 1,334 for a write-in, most of that vote presumably going to Johnson.

“The real victory will lie in the years ahead when our streets are clean, when our homes are safe, when our young professionals rush to get back to Harrisburg, rather than flee from it,” said Papenfuse, who, in his acceptance speech, encouraged his supporters at Midtown Scholar Bookstore to be humble and seek reconciliation with his opponents in the election.

“The true victory will lie in the days, the months, the years ahead when Pennsylvanians are once again proud of their capital,” he said. “When the people of Harrisburg once again cherish their homes, and when the rest of the nation connects Harrisburg with culture, prosperity and renaissance and not bankruptcy, despair and defeat.”

Running unopposed, Democrats Shamaine Daniels and Ben Allatt earned four-year terms on Harrisburg City Council, while sitting councilwomen Wanda Williams and Eugenia Smith were re-elected. Charles DeBrunner was elected in an uncontested race for city controller.

For Harrisburg school board, Democrats Danielle Robinson, Patricia Whitehead Myers, James Thompson and Kenneth Mickens earned four-year terms. Monica Blackston-Bailey, LaTasha Frye and Adara Jackson each won two-year seats on the school board.

In Dauphin County races, Bill Tully outpolled Democrat Anne Gingrich Cornick for Court of Common Pleas judge, and incumbent Republican Stephen Farina won his contest for prothonotary against Democrat Kelly Summerford.


Continue Reading